Staff

ADMINISTRATION & ADVANCEMENT

Charlette Lindell  Director, Compliance & Quality Assurance
CharletteL@SmartStart-FC.org
336-714-4347

Jackie Lofton Deputy Executive Director
JackieL@SmartStart-FC.org
336-714-4349

Jenny Whitley-Chief Educational Officer / Director, Teaching & Learning Services
JennyW@SmartStart-FC.org
336-714-4344

Larry Vellani — Chief Executive Officer / Executive Director
LarryV@SmartStart-FC.org
336-714-4365

Mark Palmer — Director, Advancement & Communications
MarkP@SmartStart-FC.org
336-714-4350

Michael Redden — Chief Financial Officer / Director, Finance & Strategic Allocations
MichaelR@SmartStart-FC.org
336-714-4341

Sarah Heinemeier  Research & Evaluation Consultant
Compass Consulting Group, LLC
SarahHei@CompassEval.com
919-544-9004

Staci McMillian-Smith — Director, Family Engagement
StaciM@SmartStart-FC.org
336-714-4362

Tammy Lamb — Human Resource & Accounting Specialist
TammyL@SmartStart-FC.org
336-714-4366

Vanessa Sawyer-Wilson Deputy  Director, Teaching & Learning Services
VanessaSW@SmartStart-FC.org
336-714-4379

CLIENT, CONSUMER & PARTNER SERVICE TEAMS

Family Engagement

Bea Stuber, Contract Program Assistant
BeaS@SmartStart-FC.org
336-714-4370

Cindy Sánchez  Family Engagement Specialist
CindyS@SmartStart-FC.org
336-714-4369

Dana Sandknop
DanaS@SmartStart-FC.org
336.714.4363

Norma González  Family Engagement Specialist
NormaG@SmartStart-FC.org
336-714-4378

Ruth Meza – Program Assistant, Family Engagement & Operations
RuthM@SmartStart-FC.org
336.725.6011, Ext. 300

Sherri Jones  Family Engagement Specialist
SherriJ@SmartStart-FC.org
336-714-4377

Teresa Cox Family Engagement Specialist
TeresaC@SmartStart-FC.org
336-714-4350

Teaching & Learning Services

Amy Queen Teaching & Learning Specialist
AmyQ@SmartStart-FC.org
336-714-4345

Cara McKeown — Teaching & Learning Specialist
CaraM@SmartStart-FC.org
336-714-4351

Carla Threadgill — Teaching & Learning Specialist
CarlaT@SmartStart-FC.org
336-714-4371

Catherine Burke — Teaching & Learning Specialist
CatherineB@SmartStart-FC.org
336-714-4342

Cheryl Young  Educator Scholarships & Accounting Specialist
CherylY@SmartStart-FC.org
336-714-4364

Makisha Burns — Teaching & Learning Specialist
MakishaB@SmartStart-FC.org

Olivia Summers Teaching & Learning Specialist
OliviaS@SmartStart-FC.org
336-714-4354

Interns 2018 – 2019
Julianna Miller, Wake Forest University
Sherrie Jefferson, Winston-Salem State University
Tinesha Couthen, UNC – Charlotte

SENIOR MANAGEMENT TEAM

Principals
Charlette Lindell, BA – Compliance & Quality Assurance
Larry Vellani, Chair, MPA – Chief Executive
Jackie Lofton, BS – Deputy Executive
Jenny Whitley, MEd, MBA – Chief Education Officer
Mark Palmer, MEd, MBA – Advancement & Communication
Michael Redden, BS, BS – Chief Finance Officer
Sarah Heinemeier, PhD – Research & Evaluation
Staci McMillian-Smith, MEd – Family Engagement
Vanessa Sawyer-Wilson, MAT – Teaching & Learning Services