The Smart Start of Forsyth County’s Board of Directors is composed of diverse community members who remain committed to assuring that our children are healthy and prepared to succeed in school and life for generations to come. Our board members are citizens from local childcare centers, educational programs, government agencies, business communities, human services organizations, and families. Our board meetings are updated on our Meeting and Events Calendar. All SSFC board and committee meetings operate in accordance with North Carolina Open Meetings law. The board welcomes public attendance at all proceedings and allots time for public commentary.

Board Officers

Elder Reginald McCaskill

Board Chair, Winston-Salem Maximum Enterprises, Inc.

Dr. Louis Finney Jr.

CEO, Smart Start of Forsyth County

Pastor Tembila Covington

Board Vice Chair, Neighbors for Better Neighbors

Dr. Sabrina Hinton

Secretary, TLC, Inc./ North Point Academy

Bennett Bruff

Treasurer, Turlington & Company, LLP

Board Members

Linda Barnes

Mayor, WS designee

Dr. Deborah “Debbie” Best

Wake Forest University

Brian Hart

Director, Forsyth Public Library

Honorable Judge Denise Hartsfield

Forsyth County District Court Judge

Diana Santos Johnson, Esq

Legal Aid of NC

Elizabeth Lees

Forsyth Futures

Jessica McCrory

Community Advocate

Honorable Tonya McDaniel

Forsyth County Commissioner

Dr. Effie McMillian

Executive Director of Equity Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools

Anna Miller-Fitzwater

Wake Forest Baptist - Dept. of Pediatric

Monique Pearce-Brady

NC Cooperative Extension, Forsyth/Extension Agent 4-H

Emily Rector

Director of Development at Salemtowne Retirement Community

Takeisha Redd, Esq

Assistant City Attorney

Vivien Stearns

Family Services, Inc.

Theressa Stephens, Esq

Church Child Care Center, Inc.

Sheryll Strode

Past Board Chair, Independent Consultant

Katrina Tucker

Parent Advocate

Chief Wilson Weaver

Winston-Salem Police Department